Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Grahesh, Madhumita win chess titles

Lucknow,INDIA, November 5 Andhra Pradesh’s Y Grahesh and Madhumita bagged the winner’s titles in the boys’ and girls’ section, respectively, in the XXIst National Under-7 Chess Championship that came to a close at the KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium, here on Monday.

The prize distribution ceremony was held later in the day. Dr Kashmir Singh (IPS) was the chief guest on the occasion.

The points’ positions after the final round:

Girls’ Section:

1. N Madhumita [Andhra; 8.5 points], 2. Sagar Tejaswini R [Mah; 8 points], 3. PN Sneha (Pon), 4. Sawantriya (Goa) [both 7.5 points each], 5. Manoj Anjali (Kerala), 6. Bansi Pratima (Andhra), 7. MA Lathecka Sai (TN), 8. Sankalp Shreya (Bihar) [all 7 points each], 9. Patnaik Adyasha (Orissa), 10. M Tulsi (Kar), 11. Aggrawal Vanshika (Del), 12. K Rakshana (TN) [6.5 points each).

Boys’ Section:-

1. Y Grahesh [Andhra; 8.5 points, Fide 48.5], 2. Srivastava Adarsh [UP; 8.5 points, Fide 45.5], 3. M Sabhareesh (TN), 4. Mitrabha Guha (WB) [both 8 points each]; 5. Pradhan Dipu (Asm), 6. Mohanty Sourav (Orissa) [both 7.5 points each], 7. Jain Jeet (Guj), 8. Patkar Tejas Nilesh (Mah), 9. Puranik Abhimanyu (Mah), 10. Chatterjee Haraprasad (Orissa), 11. Khasbardar Soham (Mah), 12. Nadar Anand (Mah), 13. S Sukirthi (TN), Srivastava Yashwant (Delhi) [all 7 points each].

Inter unit sports meet

As a concluding part of the year long Indian Air Force Platinum Jubilee celebrations, a four-day Inter Unit Sports Meet 2007-08 was organised at Air Force Station Memaura recently.

Throughout the week various events like football, volleyball, basketball matches and athletic meets took place. The final day witnessed a Tug of War competition between Team ‘Alfa’ (Air Warriors) and Team ‘Bravo’ (Defence Security Corps- DSC personnel).

The overall meet trophy was bagged by Wing Commander R Verma (captain of team Bravo) from Group Captain T Rajeevan, VM, Station Commander, Air Force Station Memaura who graced the occasion as chief guest.