Tuesday, November 6, 2007

M'lore: Lourdes School Wins Under-14 National Chess Title

Mangalore,INDIA Nov 6: In the history of Karnataka chess the Lourdes Central School has scripted a new episode by winning the under-14 category championship in the national CBSE chess championship 2007-08 which was held in Chennai from October 29 to November 3.

According to a press release, the team comprising Nihal Manjunath (captain), Adith Jagadish, Yashas Salian, Rammohan Bhandari and Akash Harendranath scored 19.5 points in 6 rounds. The 80 points of the Jawahar School helped the Lourdes Central School clinch the title as against 82.5 points, which was the tie-break score of Lourdes School.

Adith Jagadish who remained unbeaten and Yashas Salian also won the Board prizes in 3rd and 4th Board respectively with their individual scores of 6 and 5 points respectively.

For the Magalorean team this is the maiden major chess title in CBSE chess event. The team won the title despite the participation of strong teams from all over India. All the players of the team are being trained at Derik’s Chess School, in the city.